Jean Piaget and the stages of development (English)

Did you know that…..

Jean Piaget (1896- 1980), a Swiss psychologist, was a pioneer in discovering that intellectual development proceeds in stages ?

Jean Piaget got a degree and doctorate in Biology. After spending a semester in Zurich, where he started to psychoanalysis. In 1919 Piaget will work for a year in the laboratory of Alfred Binet in Paris. He became professor of Psychology and Sociology at the University of Lausanne in 1929.

He published very important studies on child psychology. Piaget also has described the development of intelligence, and concepts like space and time in the different stages of childhood. His studies are based on the growth of their own children.
Piaget defined a sequence of four stages of development: Sensorimotor stage, preoperative stage, stage of concrete operations, and stage of formal operations.

The essential contribution to knowledge was Piaget have demonstrated that the child has specific ways of thinking which differentiate the adult.

Jean Piaget was more than thirty honorary doctorates from various universities in the world and numerous awards.

(Edited by Dr. María Moya Guirao, MD)

Jean Piaget

Post A Reply

A %d blogueros les gusta esto: